2014 Los Angeles Film Critics Association Awards Winners

Today the Los Angeles Film Critics Association weighed in with their annual awards. Founded in 1975, The Los Angeles Film Critics Association (LAFCA) is comprised of Los Angeles-based, professional film critics working in the Los Angeles print and electronic media. Each December, LAFCA members vote on the year's Achievement Awards, honoring screen excellence on both sides of the camera. Plaques of recognition are then presented to winners during LAFCA's annual awards ceremony, held in mid-January.

We posted many in the last couple of weeks, including the National Board of Review Awards winners, IFP Gotham Independent Film Awards winners, and New York Film Critics Circle Awards winners. Also today, the Boston Society of Film Critics and New York Film Critics Online presented their honors for 2014.

Boyhood was the big winner once again, as it was earlier today with the New York Film Critics Online and Boston Society of Film Critics, taking four awards in Los Angeles including Best Picture, Best Director (Richard Linklater), Best Actress (Patricia Arquette), and Best Editing (Sandra Adair). Along with its win for Best International Independent Film at the British Independent Film Awards, the picture took in a total of 13 awards today.

The winners of the 2014 Los Angeles Film Critics Association Awards are:

Best Picture
Runner up:
The Grand Budapest Hotel

Best Director
Richard Linklater, Boyhood
Runner up: Wes Anderson, The Grand Budapest Hotel

Best Actor
Tom Hardy, Locke
Runner up: Michael Keaton, Birdman

Best Actress
Patricia Arquette, Boyhood
Runner up: Julianne Moore, Still Alice

Best Supporting Actor
J.K. Simmons, Whiplash
Runner up: Edward Norton, Birdman

Best Supporting Actress
Agata Kulesza, Ida
Runner up: Rene Russo, Nightcrawler

Best Foreign Language Film
Runner up:
Winter Sleep

Best Animation
Tale of the Princess Kaguya
Runner up: The Lego Movie

Best Documentary
Runner up: Life Itself

Best Screenplay
The Grand Budapest Hotel, Wes Anderson
Runner up:
Birdman, Alejandro González Iñárritu, Nicolás Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris, Jr. and Armando Bo

Best Cinematography
Emmanuel Lubezki, Birdman
Runner up: Dick Pope, Mr. Turner

Best Editing
Sandra Adair, Boyhood
Runner up: Barney Pilling, The Grand Budapest Hotel

Best Production Design
Adam Stockhausen, The Grand Budapest Hotel
Runner up: Ondrej Nekvasil, Snowpiercer

Best Music Score
(tie) Jonny Greenwood, Inherent Vice, and Mica Levi, Under the Skin

New Generation Award
Ava DuVernay, Ida


Larry Richman

Larry Richman

For 20 years I was a professional in the entertainment industry, from commercial broadcast radio in America's fourth largest market to band management to record production. But my passion is independent film, and I spend much of the year traveling to film festivals to see indies and meet the actors, directors, and others responsible for creating them. I'm a writer, photographer, and videographer, currently serving as Senior Vice President for Media & Technology and Public Relations at PROnetworks as well as Editor at Larry411.com

Comments (0)

There have not been any comments submitted for this entry to date.

Leave a Comment

You need sign in to comment on entries on Larry411.

  • Author: Larry Richman
  • Posted: December 07, 2014
  • Visiblity:
    • Total Views: 1662
    • Current Year: 130
    • Current Month: 1
    • Current Week: 1
    • Last 30 Days: 5
  • Tags: None